Shirley Kennett Facebook Shirley Kennett Twitter

Writing as Shirley Kennett

The PJ Gray Series - now available as print, eBooks, and Audio books!

PJ Gray Series

The PJ Gray series of thrillers centers on a psychologist and single mother who deploys virtual reality technology to solve homicides for the St. Louis Police Department. The novels in the series include Gray Matter, Fire Cracker, Chameleon, Act of Betrayal, and Time of Death. I'm also the author of Burning Rose, a stand-alone environmental mystery. Ebooks and audio books are available from Open Road Integrated Media and Audible. Previously published hardcover and paperback versions are available in limited quantities from online bookstores.

Burning Rose

Limited quantities hardback and trade paperback
eBook from Open Road Integrated Media
Audio Book from Audible

BURNING ROSE is a standalone thriller (not part of the PJ Gray series) with high stakes, exotic locations, unforgettable characters and a splash of romance!

Casey Washington is a freelance eco-journalist who thinks she has the brass ring in her grasp—an interview with Robert Gunner, the reclusive head of a powerful megacorporation building a controversial hydroelectric project in an unspoiled Amazon River rainforest.

When the interview goes wrong, she’s mad enough to start turning over stones and seeing what crawls out.

Heads of megacorporations are dying in mysterious and gruesome ways, shifting loyalties rapidly on the international scene. A secret organization is plotting to change the balance of power. And Casey finds herself admiring the man she’s supposed to hate.

It all comes together in a place where butterflies float over calm water and deadly creatures lurk underneath, where the natives slip like shadows of nature through lush forests, and killers pursue their human prey. Suddenly Casey’s got more to worry about than missing a deadline!

What others are saying about Burning Rose:

“Kennett writes with pace and clarity. If you’re hungry for vivid characters ... your ship has come in!”— Kirkus

“Shirley Kennett has Hawaii-based freelance journalist Casey Washington grappling with a mysterious troupe called The Six—whose members have names like Wrongful Death and who seem to be behind a spate of CEO murders—and her own lonely heart.” — Publishers Weekly

“Lots of action keeps the characters on their toes as they travel the world. The exciting conclusion in the South American jungle leaves Casey with far more than an exclusive story. Readers who enjoy a good puzzle with pieces that never quite fit will have fun with this suspenseful thriller.” — Booklist

“[Burning Rose is] tightly woven, intricately complex and fascinating to follow the various plots that Kennett has successfully created. The finish of this book is dramatic and wonderfully satisfying. If you enjoy thrillers, Burning Rose as the back cover says, showcases ‘Shirley Kennett at the top of her game.’ Unforgettable!” — Book Reader’s Heaven

Copyright 2007-2024 Shirley Kennett
Privacy Policy